15th July 2015

Today I spent most the time at Karatepe (which is quite full again. I would guess about 1,000 or more.) searching for a disabled man to maybe get him out of the camp to Pikpa (another camp, but different from Karatepe. there will be a “Pikpa” blogpost about it.)

Luckily I found him and I got help from an activist to take him to Pikpa. I am glad to say that he is there now.We will see about his registration and paper situation and then for next steps.

Also there were some journalists from Swiss.

About NGOs:

I get asked a lot about where the NGOs are. Honestly: I don´t know. UNHCR is at Moria but I think it is just not enough people to actually help. But once again, Moria cannot be visited so no one really knows what happens inside. And what makes a lot for the helplessness of the situation of camp Karatepe is the total absence of any authority. Today I saw one (!) man from doctors without borders. Also he came to the camp the very first time and of course: He was completely overwhelmed.

There are discussions with the island´s Mayor and authorities about how to change the situation.

The village of altogether is an association run by volunteers for years and years now. They are extremely active and try to give help to refugees as good as possible.

Luckily people of the village (how we say, or sometimes even village people) are integrated in those discussions as well as NGOs. Hopefully this means that things move quickly. EU money has been requested but is expected for late September. Which is… ridiculous. I feel like they don´t want to understand that this is a humanitarian crisis happening here!

And once again: This is not a greek problem! The European Union is so damn in charge for this! They are not taking their responsibilities.

These problems can only be solved by helps on an European level or some real big NGOs building real camps.

Some afghan told me they are at Karatepe for 14 days now. I have seen them every time I came. All of them suffer from diarrhoea, worst are the children.

The toilet situation has not changed.

Whereas all syrians I knew have left the place other nationalities remain waiting.

An afghan woman cried when I talked to her about it. Again she said the same thing that I had heard from another refugees at my first day using the exact same words.

“I don´t know what to do. I think we have been forgotten.”

When I tried to hug and comfort her she softly pushed me away saying: “we all have diarrhoea. you better leave. we are sick.”

